This Siti Never Sleeps At Night

Hey dick-wad, I'm speaking!

Movie Review: Resident Evil: The Final Chapter

Leave a comment

resident_evil_the_final_chapter_ver7_xlg

Let me first be honest: I’ve never watched Resident Evil before. I’ve heard of it, thought nothing of it and never watched it. I’ve never been a big fan of this kind of movies. I’ve heard of the game and I’m pretty sure I’ve watched some Let’s Play videos of it on YouTube but I guess I never really was interested in the franchise.

But why did I still watch it? Because of a Korean actor named Lee Joon-Ki who played his first Hollywood role in the movie. The things I do for my oppas. Tee-hee!

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter started off with Alice summarizing the story plots of the previous movies in less than 5 minutes before segueing into what I think might have been the ending from the last movie. Like any other chapters before, she had to fight off the zombie mutants and the flying ones and kicked asses half the time. Then she found out that the Umbrella Corporation actually had the cure all this time and our heroine had to go through multiple obstacles, with the help of other survivors, to reach to it.

That’s basically it. Alice, played by the well-fit Milla Jovovich, had to kick butts 99.9% of the time in the movie, including the butts of my oppa, Lee Joon-Ki, who had only two English lines. The rest of the 5-10 minutes screen-time he had was trying to kill Alice.

It had a lot of jumpscares, just to make this movie exciting. Otherwise, I’m pretty much bored. Not because I don’t know what’s going on – the first five minutes of the movie ensured that I know what was going on but I just find that kicking butts 99.9% of the time with no humour whatsoever is boring. The reason I like Jackie Chan’s action-packed movies are because he beats people up but he was funny while doing it, which I find entertaining and worthwhile. This movie ain’t it. That’s why it loses its ground after the first movie. There were no small talks – just action, action, action, action, action. Even if there are dialogues, I’m pretty sure I can count the number of words in one statement with one hand.

If its purpose was to ensure that it sticks to the game version, I guess it worked since in games, the characters don’t talk much. You shoot, kill, kick, stab zombies and monsters left and right to survive the apocalyptic world. But that’s in games. This is a movie. They should make more effort than that.

Overall, I think you should just watch other movies if you have a choice. Otherwise, just stay at home.

I give this movie 1 out of 5.

Trailer…

Author: thesitineversleeps

Siti is just simply a Singaporean girl who has nothing better to do than watch movies and TV shows, listen to music and read books because, let's face it, what else can she, a non-adventurer girl, do in her spare time in this small island? This blog is for her to post her more "professional" reviews of movies, TV shows, books and music and as such, this blog is not spoiler-free so be warned. She may tend to get a little fangirly but she reserves that mostly for her more obsessive fangirly Tumblr at sexandthesiti.tumblr.com When she is not sitting on her arse doing this, you can find her going to work as a project manager in an online research panel company. However, that is the more boring (if that is even remotely possible) side of her life that she does not want to ever share,

Leave a Reply

